jump to navigation

HTC and Android: The gPhone September 17, 2008

Posted by Who? in Random, technology.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Just saw an article about the Google phone.  I’m pretty excited to watch this unfold.  The rumor is that it will be called the HTC Dream but I like calling it the gPhone….iPhone v. gPhone the battle for the universe.

Currently, I have the Blackberry 8830; its got a couple quirks and bugs but, for the most part, it works well.  However, I’d love to upgrade to the new iPhone.  It will be interesting to see how the gPhone compares.  Part of me wants to ditch my phone entirely for a pager in hopes of going on the low-information diet promoted by Tim Ferriss.  But, I probably won’t.

I just can’t let go off the convenience.  Sure it doesn’t help to unwind at the end of the day when someone sends you an email at 10:30, but for now I just can’t give it up.  In no particular order, my top non-communication uses for my BB are: movie times, googling restaurant times/hours/contact info, reading the daily news from 5 different papers, BrickBreaker and note-taking.

The one that I probably could not function without is, surprisingly, note-taking.  If you happen to have the good fortune of knowing me, you know that I’ve always got random thoughts, questions, ideas running through my head.  Did you know that Memo files on the BB’s have a file size limit?  I do hahaha.  There are probably 20 different Memo files on different subjects in my phone.

Another function that I could not live without is the ability to search Google for one purpose in particular.  Settling arguments and bets.  This is a loose recollection of an actual convo- “Man, The Dark Knight was awesome.  Did you like it?”  “Yah it was alright.” “Alright! Are you crazy?” “Yah- I just liked the first Batman better.”  “The first one? What is this the ’80’s?”  “Dude the first Batman came out in the ’90’s.” “You wanna bet???”  And out of my belt holster flew my BB with blinding speed. 

Gooooogle says- 1989.  Winner.  Sweet, sweet satisfaction.  I thanked God and the Academy.  I hope open-source platforms will be the way of the future.  The MSFT/closed source approach to business is the way of the past. Sorry Billy.

Comments»

1. bestcellulardeals - September 30, 2008

hey, this is a great article. However i do`nt get why google has a plan to sell only 400,000 these phone this year. Im sure they can do more then that. Also, there is no ads or anything on it, what`s up with this? when you have a chance check out my Best Cellular Deals project too.
Thanks


Leave a Reply

